Home> Blog Archives

Blog Archives

2nd Bar Napkin Biennale

October 31, 2012 Category :Events 0

Bar Napkin Biennale 2.0

Live Drawing and General Carousing
ROY
7 W. Castillo St.
Saturday, November 3rd
11 – 6p (come whenever you can and stay as long as you like)

Exhibition and Silent Auction
The Arts Fund of Santa Barbara
Saturday November 10th
11 – 8p (bring your check books)

 

You’re invited to the Santa Barbara Art Collaboartive’s next Bar Napkin Biennale starting this Saturday.

We are accepting submissions and having a live drawing session with participating artists at Roy on November 3rd, from 11 am to 6 pm, with the possibility of it running later into the night as logistics permit. This work will be compiled and curated to fit within the 2 walls at the Arts Fund on the 7th, where the napkins will be part of a silent auction with a reception on Saturday the 10th,

ending Tuesday the 13th. Spill over work will likely be compiled and shown in a flip book format adjacent to the walls in question. A silent auction would be held for all pieces displayed and the funds will go to the Arts Collaborative.

Funds from the event will be used to extend the SBAC’s insurance to allow the organization to umbrella other arts groups under their policy. The SBAC has for a long time wanted to be able to provide liability insurance for smaller arts organizations that are not able to afford a policy for themselves. This will be put to use specifically by small theater troupes, but could be used for impromptu exhibitions or concerts in non-traditional spaces.

We’ll supply all the napkins and media on the 3rd, of course. I hope you can make it. It is a great opportunity to hang out with other artists and cool people generally in a totally informal setting.

AND A GREAT BIG THANKS TO ROY AND TO THE ARTS FUND SANTA BARBARA!

Participating artist include, but are not limited to:

Adam Cherry

David J Diamant: http://www.davidjdiamant.com/art.htm

Dug Uyesaka

Elizabeth Folk: http://www.elizabethfolk.com/urbanjungle/index.html

Ethan Turpin: http://www.ethanturpin.com/

Hugh Margerum: http://www.hughmargerum.com/

James Van Arsdale: http://www.jamesvanarsdale.com/

Jami Joelle Nielsen: http://jamijoelle.com/home.html

Joe LaCorte: http://josephlacorte.blogspot.com/

Kimberly Hahn : http://www.kimberlyhahn.com/

Lindsey Mickelson: http://www.cmnd-z.com/

Luke Holden: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Art-by-Luke-Holden/135047316545220

Mark Goerner: http://www.grnr.com/

Matt Rodriguez

Nancy Gifford: http://www.nancygifford.com/

Nicole Strasburg : http://www.nicolestrasburg.com/

Penelope Gottlieb: http://www.penelopegottlieb.com/PenelopeGottlieb/Penelope_Gottlieb_Home.html

Sheryl Shroeder: http://www.schroederville.com/

Ted Mills: http://www.tedmills.com/art/

Tracy Beeler: http://www.bronzesmith.com/gallery/gallery/artists/tracy-beeler

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1st Thursday Reception

October 3, 2012 Category :Events 0

Art In The Mayor’s Office

In conjunction with the upcoming Focus on the Funk Zone event on October 6th, Mayor Helene Schneider with support from the Santa Barbara Arts Collaborative will be opening the fifth in a series of rotating exhibitions in her office of artwork by local artists

For our fall exhibit, we are focusied on Funk Zone related art. The Funk Zone is a unique area with a long history of arts, crafts and industrial manufacturing. Today the area is full of artists, artisans, who make everything from surfboards to fine California wines. The Funk Zone is home to the area’s highest density of creative individuals and businesses. You are invited to join the mayor in her office from 5 – 6 on 1st Thursday, October 4th to see this interesting and diverse group of works in a variety of media.

We would like to congratulate the winners for this round: Ashleigh Walker, Rica Coulter, David Peacock, Earl Arnold, Skye Gwilliams, Lynne Fogel, and Virginia Babro.

City Hall
2nd Floor
735 Anacapa Street
October 4th – 1st Thursday
5 – 6PM